Skip to content
Swindon Counts — Swindon, in numbers.Local help →

Swindon, in numbers

People and living standards

Swindon council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Swindon council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 171,504 in 1991 to 245,286 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Swindon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 172,692 people in 1996; 245,286 people in 2025. 42% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Swindon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991171,504
1992172,079
1993172,152
1994171,772
1995171,949
1996172,692
1997175,179
1998177,804
1999179,329
2000179,613
2001180,129
2002182,110
2003184,368
2004186,390
2005189,684
2006192,345
2007196,942
2008201,521
2009204,371
2010206,939
2011209,709
2012212,801
2013215,994
2014218,998
2015221,805
2016224,498
2017227,680
2018230,174
2019231,934
2020232,574
2021233,760
2022236,108
2023240,013
2024243,324
2025245,286
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Swindon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 37,173 people in 1996; 47,260 people in 2025. 27.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Swindon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199136,328
199236,619
199336,745
199436,913
199537,041
199637,173
199737,621
199837,875
199938,232
200038,030
200137,704
200237,865
200337,938
200437,930
200538,200
200638,434
200739,000
200839,817
200940,402
201040,851
201141,399
201242,237
201342,964
201443,681
201544,224
201644,840
201745,530
201845,925
201946,094
202046,209
202146,197
202246,515
202347,185
202447,401
202547,260
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Swindon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 111,818 people in 1996; 157,006 people in 2025. 40.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Swindon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991112,726
1992112,708
1993112,481
1994111,768
1995111,513
1996111,818
1997113,606
1998115,622
1999116,744
2000117,003
2001117,547
2002119,231
2003121,207
2004122,928
2005125,597
2006127,882
2007131,430
2008134,667
2009136,247
2010137,663
2011139,241
2012140,242
2013141,711
2014143,124
2015144,624
2016146,046
2017147,968
2018149,281
2019149,894
2020149,824
2021150,178
2022151,388
2023153,786
2024156,003
2025157,006
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Swindon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 23,701 people in 1996; 41,020 people in 2025. 73.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Swindon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199122,450
199222,752
199322,926
199423,091
199523,395
199623,701
199723,952
199824,307
199924,353
200024,580
200124,878
200225,014
200325,223
200425,532
200525,887
200626,029
200726,512
200827,037
200927,722
201028,425
201129,069
201230,322
201331,319
201432,193
201532,957
201633,612
201734,182
201834,968
201935,946
202036,541
202137,385
202238,205
202339,042
202439,920
202541,020
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 233,411 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Swindon · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh27,17311.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African6,1232.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups6,4952.8%
White190,14281.5%
Other ethnic group3,4781.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 209,156 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Swindon · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White187,89889.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4,2262%
Asian/Asian British13,3656.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2,8611.4%
Other ethnic group8060.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 180,051 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Swindon · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White171,40995.2%
Mixed2,0451.1%
Asian/Asian British3,8372.1%
Black/Black British1,2680.7%
Chinese/Other1,4920.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 11.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Swindon council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,226 per person in 1997; £22,956 per person in 2024. 104.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Swindon council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,226
199811,523
199912,106
200012,707
200113,335
200213,595
200313,857
200414,127
200514,401
200615,010
200715,417
200815,647
200915,985
201015,813
201115,951
201216,156
201316,522
201417,048
201517,525
201617,829
201718,122
201818,655
201919,372
202019,399
202119,766
202220,631
202321,767
202422,956
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Swindon council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 5.8% in 1997; -11.6% in 2024. 17.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Swindon council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19975.8
19986.4
19997
20006.8
20017.8
20027.5
20036.3
20044.1
20052.4
20062.5
20070.5
2008-0.6
2009-0.2
2010-2.1
2011-2.1
2012-4.3
2013-5.7
2014-5.7
2015-7.9
2016-7.4
2017-8
2018-8.6
2019-8.1
2020-7.6
2021-9.5
2022-10.2
2023-11
2024-11.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

63%

21 March 2021 · Swindon council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16.9%

21 March 2021 · Swindon council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.3%

21 March 2021 · Swindon council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.4%

21 March 2021 · Swindon council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£264,000

July 2026 · Swindon council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,096

August 2026 · Swindon council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.